Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

Outlander Overheating & Engine Rattle / RPM Fluctuation when Hot

Search this Thread

Old 11-06-2016, 09:36 PM
Default Outlander Overheating & Engine Rattle / RPM Fluctuation when Hot

Hello all,

This post is regarding a 2004 Mitsubishi Outlander XLS (2-wheel drive).

This is my first time posting here and also the first time this car gives me any sort of trouble in the last 3 years. I'd like to explain what happened and hopefully get some pointers as to what to check as I like to any repairs myself when possible. I'll be sure to post the solution once I do figure everything out. I'm going to try to attach videos (if this is possible) and also would like to give a disclaimer that this post may get lengthy for the sake of thoroughness

Last time after I exited the freeway, I noticed smoke starting to come out of the hood and when I looked down at the temperature gauge it was on the last mark, as hot as can be. I pulled over, turned off the engine, and opened the hood. Coolant had spilled everywhere (air duct, top of engine, top of radiator). At first sight, it doesn't appear that there was any oil spilled, simply coolant. The radiator was NOT hot to the touch and neither was the cap, I was able to open it right away and nothing spewed out. The radiator was empty. I filled the radiator back with water and then the reservoir (which still had a bit of coolant, thought it was now low) and turned on the engine. Fans went on right away.