Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

Sudden stalling and rough idle 2007 Outlander

Search this Thread

Old 12-09-2012, 08:31 PM
Default Sudden stalling and rough idle 2007 Outlander

I am wondering if any of the experienced owners here have experienced and solved these symptoms. My 2007 Outlander has 107K miles and has been maintained regularly. It is due for a timing belt service this month but I don't think that is the cause of my problems. It was running like a top yesterday and upon cold startup this morning, it was suddenly misfiring and stalling just off idle.

The check engine light lit immediately but my generic code reader found no stored codes. I am a retired mechanic/engineer with many years servicing aircraft and automotive engine electronic control systems so I am not really out of my depth here. The lack of generic codes could mean that I have to go to the dealer so their computers can pull the proprietary codes that Mitsubishi does not release to the public. I am a long time BMW owner and that is a common occurrence with their fault codes. Fortunately, there are aftermarket readers for bimmers that can read the proprietary factory codes. I have not found something like that for the Mitsubishi.

I checked for the obvious possible causes like vacuum leak in the intake rubber elbow and PCV line but they looked OK. I am afraid it is potentially a clogged fuel filter and bad fuel pump. I have seen these symptoms on other vehicles when the fuel pump failed but was still providing a little fuel. I priced fuel pumps online and they are more than twice as expensive as one for my BMW 2003 E39. That is hard to swallow and I don't want to jump to that conclusion until I can measure fuel pressure. It has been raining non stop and I will have to wait to do more troubleshooting.