1st Generation This includes all Eclipses, Talons, and Lasers built from 1990-1994.

Two questions...

Search this Thread

Old 01-01-2006, 05:20 AM
Default Two questions...

Allright, I will admit, I'm new to mitsubishi's, and new to working on my own cars.

I bought a auto 1.8 1991, not really knowing what I was getting into. The car is fine, resonable power for it's size (been to 115 with it), great milage ,but now that I see trubos around...I want one. My eclipse's body is in great shape, and it has the flip headlights. The problems is I have had alot of little problems with the 1.8. The starter, alternator, o2 sensor, etc. I'm not sure if I want to keep it or not. I love the way in hadles, drives, and feels. I'd really love some more power.

So, question one, is there any cheap upgrades for the 1.8? Somehitng iI could do myself? Maybe cold air intake, etc.

Second, Could I swap in a 2.0 turbo or N/A ,and would I need a new transmisson/ is a manual conversion reasonable?

Old 01-01-2006, 11:43 AM
Default RE: Two questions...

ORIGINAL: Vegeance

Allright, I will admit, I'm new to mitsubishi's, and new to working on my own cars.

I bought a auto 1.8 1991, not really knowing what I was getting into. The car is fine, resonable power for it's size (been to 115 with it), great milage ,but now that I see trubos around...I want one. My eclipse's body is in great shape, and it has the flip headlights. The problems is I have had alot of little problems with the 1.8. The starter, alternator, o2 sensor, etc. I'm not sure if I want to keep it or not. I love the way in hadles, drives, and feels. I'd really love some more power.

So, question one, is there any cheap upgrades for the 1.8? Somehitng iI could do myself? Maybe cold air intake, etc.

Second, Could I swap in a 2.0 turbo or N/A ,and would I need a new transmisson/ is a manual conversion reasonable?