2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

Buying GST need good advice

Old 03-15-2006, 10:28 PM
Default Buying GST need good advice

Hi, Im a newbie to the DSM world.. I am looking at a 97 GST 5 speed with 75,000k. I test drove the car and was pretty amazed. I have never drivin a turbocharged car before so I dont know what to expect. It was equipped with a Blow off valve that didnt recirculate throught the intake system. Car is in good condition... The top needs a lil help up and down.. The electric motors are goin out? (any idea how $$?) TEST DRIVE: Felt like it hit hard boost at 3500-4000 rpm and I felt continually accleration like the turbo was being held back(this normal?). The clutch held up for about 15 mins and I pulled into the lot and the pedal was stuck to the ground.(no pressure). Refilled the clutch fluid, while pumping the clutch and it leaked all onto the pavement.(master cylinder?). Anyways I can snag the car for $6900 after the clutch is operational(fixed by dealer). I'll have about $2000 to have xtra for repairs. Is it worth it?

Thanks
Austin

Old 03-15-2006, 11:52 PM
Default RE: Buying GST need good advice

research crank walk and all its symptoms long and hard. Isnt the clutch stiking a symptom of crankwalk? Id be carfull your turbo should hit full boost at 3000-3400 I wouldnt leave the BOV vented it holds back the car. creates more turbo lag runs extra rich bogs and sometimes may buck badly while at 1/4 - 3/4 throttle and at stops may stall out.

the motor for the top I dont think is cheap either I have heard there not but I am not positive since my spyder never had any trouble with the roof

Old 03-16-2006, 04:49 AM

ORIGINAL: EMonz57