2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

HELP please - Eclipse GS 95 dies when idle

Search this Thread

Old 04-24-2005, 11:06 AM
Default HELP please - Eclipse GS 95 dies when idle

I'm a newbie here and did a little exploring, but thought it would be best to post a new topic. Please excuse me - I'm not good with car terminology (or dealing w/ cars in general).

Background
I have a 5pd 95 Eclipse GS and it has a l04k miles. It's been an issue since we've gotten it back from my mother-in-law since the beginning of last year (yes, had to switch cars bc i had twins). Anycase, I've had a major tune up 2 months ago, had the battery go dead on us twice. Switched it last year and found out they gave us the wrong battery & have been recharging it until recently went back and they gave us the correct type of battery. All throughout this ordeal, my eclipse would start up and while i'm warmint it up, it would die. Then it'd start off fine again (sometimes it would die a second time). Drives fine for a couple of days and then while i'm idle at a light or anywhere, it'd shut off. Car seems to work fine after we have the battery changed. As you can tell, I haven't driven my eclipse lately for fear of it shutting off while i'm driving. Also, before my last battery change, the car seemed to want to turn off when i went over bumps, some light would turn on and i'd rev it to keep it going...probably loose connection? (doesn't seem to do it anymore, now it's just shutting off when in idle). Everything is stock (i think, bought used in 99) w/ a audio system.