2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

Timing belt slipped off :(

Search this Thread

Old 08-01-2007, 02:30 PM
Default Timing belt slipped off :(

How are you all doing? Im new to this web site, I have 1999 mitsubishi eclipse RS, i know ****ty model but o well, the timing belt slipped off and my mechanic when that happens usually two or more of the valves are get bent is this correct?? What I was gonna try to do is replace the timing belt if that does not work then i was jus gonna buy a new cylinderhead, im also planing to convert it to turbo prob jus stock T3, if you could get back to me with any suggestions that would be great cuz im stuck : )

thanks,
shane

Old 08-01-2007, 03:51 PM
Default RE: Timing belt slipped off :(

ORIGINAL: masqwitz
the timing belt slipped off and my mechanic when that happens usually two or more of the valves are get bent is this correct??
Congratulations, you need head work. And its probally more than 2 valves.

ORIGINAL: masqwitz
im also planing to convert it to turbo prob just stock T3, if you could get back to me with any suggestions that would be great cuz im stuck : )

Horrible idea. Over costly and a pain in the ***.
Don't waste the money.

Old 08-01-2007, 05:30 PM

thanks for the info, so you think it would be worth ti to A: buy a used cylinder head and put it on B: find out which valves are bent and replace then or C: scrap it cuz its too much work?

Old 08-01-2007, 07:29 PM

Well what caused the belt to slip off? If theres a bigger problem at hand you could be looking at more than valves.

Dont waste all that money putting a turbo kit on a RS. Just sell the car and buy a gst or gsx. You will save money in the long run.

Old 08-01-2007, 11:09 PM

My guess, tensioner gave out on him relieving all belt tensioner and making it skip teeth ot slide.

Old 08-02-2007, 12:31 AM

the mechanic said it was the water pump that made it go out, but i don't think that has anything to do with it??