3rd Generation This includes all Eclipses built from 2000-2005

2001 Eclipse GS won't start, doesn't seem to be battery

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2009, 03:33 PM
Default 2001 Eclipse GS won't start, doesn't seem to be battery

Hey everybody,

This is my first time at this forum and I'm excited to be here.

Last night after returning from a 60 mile drive I parked my car by my apartment complex's mailboxes to get the mail, and tried to start my 2001 Eclipse GS and it wouldn't work. Everything electrical would power on when I turned the key to the on position (stereo, warning lights, headlights, power locks worked, power windows worked). But when I turned the key to start the engine I would get one clicking sound and then nothing else (if I held the key there I'd get a couple more clicks, though). I tried jump starting it but that still gave me the same result (full power, one click, and no engine start). The battery is only a little over a year old and it seems to be working fine. I followed some instructions online to test whether or not it's the ignition switch (turn key to on position to see if warning lights come on, then turn key to see if warning lights/headlights turn off, which they all did). Now that I've tried to start it so many times the battery is less charged so the power windows and power locks won't work.

Any ideas as to what is wrong with the car? It worked fine before this except one weird, notable exception is that a couple days ago my cd player stopped reading cds, so I don't know if that is somehow connected or if that is just my cd player going bust (the radio still works on it). I don't think it's the alternator because I've had a bad alternator in the past and my car isn't behaving in a similar manner. Anyway, any help is appreciated.

Thanks,

-Adam

P.S. I'd be happy to take pictures of anything if you'd like. I'd also be happy to try out any suggestions (especially any easy ones) for testing the car.