Mitsubishi Galant A sporty mid-sized sedan offering the perspective buyer a change from the normal mid-size sedan class.

'00 GALANT TRUNK WONT OPEN W/ KEY OR LEVER

Search this Thread

Old 04-08-2008, 03:42 PM
Default '00 GALANT TRUNK WONT OPEN W/ KEY OR LEVER

HI, I'M A NEWBIE HERE
I HAVE A 2000 GALANT...ANY HELP WOULD BE MUCH APPRECIATED
MY TRUNK WON'T OPEN WITH MY KEY OR WITH THE LEVER ..I'VE CRAWLED THRU THE BACK SEAT AND WAS ABLE TO OPEN IT ONCE PRIOR AND DIDNT EVEN KNOW WHAT I DID TO DO IT ,BUT IT'S JAMMED AGAINAND I CANNOT FIGURE HOW TO OPEN IT THIS TIME ...I'VE ALSO TRIED PUSHING THE WHITE SLIDE SWITCH TO LOCKAND UNLOCKUP AND DOWN AND HAD SOMEONE TURNING THE KEY WHILE I WAS IN THE TRUNK DOING THIS ....
CAN ANYONE HELP ME OUT WITH THIS ON WHAT I SHOULD DO TO OPEN IT FROM THE INSIDE???
THANX FOR TAKING THE TIME TO READ MY POST

Old 04-19-2008, 11:36 PM
Default RE: '00 GALANT TRUNK WONT OPEN W/ KEY OR LEVER

I had the same exact problem. I went through the back seat and popped it open with a broom stick. After you open it spray the white slide switch with WD-40, that's getting stuck and can't move. Try that, should work for you too.

Old 04-21-2008, 12:21 PM
Default RE: '00 GALANT TRUNK WONT OPEN W/ KEY OR LEVER

thank you , i will definetly try that.

i seen ur posting as well, and i also had that issue, i found that the radiator had cracked along the rim of it by the cap and nearly invisible ...i was only able to see it when i started the car and saw a slow leak, i had thought it was my fan too at first ,so i had to get it replaced. hopefully your radiators not metal and has been replaced with a plastic one ,the old model isnt built right....my friend also has the samemake and model and we seem to come across the same issues with this make and model kinda sad...

well in your case i really do hope its just the fan

Old 07-30-2012, 11:24 AM
Unhappy 2000 galant truck wont open