Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

93 Montero SR complete newbie need help please

Old 06-18-2011, 10:32 AM
Default 93 Montero SR complete newbie need help please

Considering buying one I found on Craigslist.

Price is good but there are a few concerns:

1) I need a 3rd row even if the 3rd row is tiny. Owner cites that putting a 3rd row in is easy as pie if you get one from the junkyard. I don't want this to be my problem.

Is it easy to put a 3rd row seat from a 94+ in there? What years should I look for? Would the seats and seatbelts be a no hassle bolt in?

2) I asked the guy if there are any problems and he says the motor knocks. This surprises me..thought I read that sometimes people confuse other issues with knock. He says the "knock" goes away with Lucas.

3) Anything else I need to watch out for?

Thank you!

Old 06-18-2011, 05:18 PM

It is easy, takes less than 30 minutes to put them in. All you need is a screwdriver and an open or socket wrench. If you're getting from a junkyard make sure you get all the hardware. I think for both rear seats there's a total of 6 screws, 8 bolts and 4 plastic molding pieces. Setting up seat belts not sure about. If you're interested PM me, I've got a set of rear seats that might work that I'd practically give away. I'm tired of reposting them on ebay

Old 06-19-2011, 11:34 AM

Originally Posted by Liston
It is easy, takes less than 30 minutes to put them in. All you need is a screwdriver and an open or socket wrench. If you're getting from a junkyard make sure you get all the hardware. I think for both rear seats there's a total of 6 screws, 8 bolts and 4 plastic molding pieces. Setting up seat belts not sure about. If you're interested PM me, I've got a set of rear seats that might work that I'd practically give away. I'm tired of reposting them on ebay