Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

Fuel leak =3

Search this Thread

Old 05-19-2014, 01:23 PM
Default Fuel leak =3

Hello, I recently replaces my spark plug and wires on my 1995 montero sport 3.5L. While replacing my spark plugs I notice a lot of oil in my spark plug wells so i replace both valve cover gaskets. I didn't replace my coils as I don't know how to tell if they're good or bad so I cleaned them from oil and put them back in. I didn't feel and click or sense the the coils connected to the spark plug not sure if that's normal as this is my first time working with coils. So I connected everything back but now I am leaking fuel from the engine and not sure where its coming from, I did notice that the it looks like the leak its coming from my exhaust system, well from Exhaust pipes connected to the engine from the bottom. Or they might just be a leak from the top and dripping all the way to the bottom. Could the coils not connecting to the spark plugs be the problem or did I miss a hose all together? Or could a O ring from the injections break by putting pressure from the top when I kinda leaned on it while i was replacing my valve cover gaskets? Any help would help. Thank you!

P.s. I get a lot of white smoke coming out from my exhaust but I assume its from my fuel leak? And forgot to mention that i also replace my fuel pump.

Old 05-19-2014, 01:31 PM

I also did some research and they said it could be my FPR but I can't even find it! Mind you, I have the repair manual. I noticed I have a hose missing behind my throttle body. While reading up some more I found a forum where it says that the hose to that come from the fuel rail from the fuel injection. But I don't even remember disconnecting that hose!!!

Old 05-19-2014, 03:06 PM