Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

2011 Outlander Sport car stereo help please!

Search this Thread

Old 07-21-2011, 06:51 AM
Default 2011 Outlander Sport car stereo help please!

Hey Guys!

I plan on putting a new head unit, new speakers and an amp in my Mitsubishi Outlander Sport. It has six speakers (the base stereo, not the Rockford Fosgate Upgrade). What I need to know is, what size speakers do I need? This is my first time working with car audio and although Im techie, Im having some trouble with this one. I would like to use all focal speakers and amp. I will be getting a pioneer head unit. Should I buy a component system and replace the tweeters and front speakers and just keep the stock back speakers or replace all six? Next question: What kind of amp do I need? How many channels etc? Again, I am a newbie! And of course, another question: Where can I find a car radio dash kit for the outlander sport?

Please! I am so exited to get this going, but cant make any moves until I figure all this out. Thanks guys!!!

Old 07-23-2011, 03:21 PM

You definitely need this and this.

Only joking, but you are going to have to give more info - What is your budget and what country do you live in?

Depending on how much you want to spend, a fairly simple and effective set up would be:
Set of components in the front (components ALWAYS better than coaxials)
Subwoofer
4-channel amp - 2 channels to drive your front components and bridge the other 2 channels to drive the sub.

Remember to keep enough money aside for amp wiring kit and speaker wire. You will need to make some rings out of MDF to mount your speakers (I can send photos if you want more info).

You can drive the rear standard speakers from the head unit.