Nitrous, Super Chargers, & Turbos All charged talk about going, and going FAST!

Home made turbo kit......maybe?

Search this Thread

Old 08-26-2009, 02:11 PM
Default Home made turbo kit......maybe?

I am new to the turbo ideas, i am a mechanic working on diesels but this is different. My question for you all knowing members is this:
In the post "How to get more torque from a 4g93 SOHC 16v " the author (who i haven't had a response to) says that by installing a potentiometer in line with the ait sensor wire, he can some what adjust the fuel flow (or injector pulse width i think) by adjusting the potentiometer setting. So....if i was to install a stock mitsubishi turbo (14b?) on my 92 expo with 4g93, running 5psi non intercooled ( after having my injectors ported for more flow and installing a air/fuel guage to monitor my adjustments with the potentiometer) can i safely/cheepley run this setup on my car? I want a little more power and if i can safely get approx. 40hp for a little money approx. $300 then that would be great. Thanks for any advice you can give me.

Old 08-27-2009, 06:40 AM
Super Moderator

I would not go non intercooled in a non-turbo block, simply because first off your trying to run some cheap @ss fuel management which BTW will start to pull timing adjusting it that way. And also your running on internals that were not meant for boost pressure. Even if its only 5psi the heat from the turbo being rushed back into the engine along with the timing being pulled and the cheap fuel system im sure you will destroy that motor.. Have you also thought about how you are gonna run the exhaust because you will need the manifold, o2housing and a custom downpipe, as well as an exhaust because the stock simply wont flow.

Old 08-27-2009, 05:52 PM

As for the non intercooled idea, i could use a factory side mount intercooler and might not have to modify the piping very much since the intake is on the same side as the 4g63 (1st gen).