2nd Generation This includes all Eclipses, and Talons built from 1995-1999

sound system

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2006, 09:22 PM
Default sound system

Hi guys,
I just bought my first car, a 97 eclipse RS, and it doest have a cd player in it. I want to get a stereo and a sound system in there as soon as possible, I was wondering if you guys had any suggestions for which system to buy. I am not looking for a performance car, so adding weight to my car is not a concern for me. I am going more towards looks.

THX

I'm not an expert on cars, so bear with me

Old 01-10-2006, 10:02 PM
Default RE: sound system

it all depends on how much you are willing to and can spend. if you are on a budget, go to wal-mart, get a couple Lightning Audio 12' subs, like a 400 or 500 watt amp, that will run you close to 150, then you need and instalation kit another 30, get set of sony x-plode 6 1/2's and unles you want to either make custom fittings for some 6x9's you'll have to use 6 1/2's i the back to. then all you need is a decent head unit. all together this system will run you about 420 give or take a few dollars. if you a have a little more to spend go to best buy, alpine would probably be the next step up, if you can afford more... bump up to rockford fosgate speakers but the alpine type R subs will blow all RF subs out of the water (within the same price range). these systems will run you close to about 850 give or take. and if you are looking for all out, top of the line, no questions asked, and hear me a mile down the road.... look at MTX and JL Audio. if you aren't so great at hooking this stuff up try to find a friend and pay him to do it cheap if not, take it to somewhere like best buy or a local audio shop but hooking everythin up won't be cheap either. hope this helps.

Old 01-11-2006, 10:11 AM