Mitsubishi Montero & Montero Sport This sport utility vehicle offers more size than the other Mitsubishi SUVs, but manages to keep a sporty look and comfortable feel, unlike many larger SUVs.

timing belt, LSD diff, various lubricants

Old 09-24-2007, 12:21 AM
Default timing belt, LSD diff, various lubricants

Hi to all of you.I drive a 2003 Montero SportXLS and I think that it's time for the timig belt to be replaced (it's got 65k) .I went to the dealership and purchased both the belt and the hydraulic tensioner and now I am ready to get to work. I want to make sure,since I am not a mechanic by trade,that I do not mess things up, so I was wondering if any of you has some sort of a booklet or a step by step instructions thing that would guide me all throughout the process(this would be my 1st time changing a timing belt,so I'ma bit nervous).I wanted to buy the repair manual but at a price of $250 I got a bit hesitant. I can't affore to take the truck to a mechanic,it's about $700-800 to get the job done and with school and everything else that kind of money is way out of our budget. Last month I have replaced the spark plugs and the wires all by myself (for the 1st time) and it went smooth,no probs at all. Besides the timing belt I would also want to fluch the transmission,but when I went to the dealer to get the fluid and the filter,they told me that the filter is made out of plastic and can be washed, cleaned and reused.Never heard of such a thing before so if you do know anything on this matter,please let me know. For the diffs, I want to replace the lubricant but it's kind of hard for me to say if the rear one has LSD or not. There is some marking on it,it says L16 or so,but that's about it.Is there any way I could determine whether this truck has LSD or not(it's got a 3.5l engine,and it's 4WD) since they say it is very important that I use a certain type of oil for the models with LSD and a different one for the ones without.At the dealers they wouldn't tell me