Mitsubishi Outlander The new crossover from Mitsubishi, mixing the usefulness of an SUV with the size and convenience of a sport wagon.

Service engine light came on.....

Search this Thread

Old 01-10-2011, 07:46 AM
Default Service engine light came on.....

I was driving my car and all of the sudden the sevice engine light soon came on. I noticed a complete loss in power, I had to floor the gas pedal for the car to move, and it barely did. I pulled into a parking lot and I shut the car off. I turned it back on and I was able to drive it back home normal but the light is still on. It stayed on for couple of days and this morning it went away. Now the car is driving fine but i am still nervous. This happened twice in two weeks. I called the dealer but before I go I wanted to get some input from experts because I have no knowledge about cars at all. What could cause this problem??thanks for all the help in advance.

Old 01-10-2011, 11:07 AM

you should have gotten the code scanned while the light was on. It may still be in the computer as a Pending Code, but it seems as if the problem corrected itself...maybe a sensor critical to the computer shorted momentarily. Most auto parts stores have scanners they'll loan you to scan your computer for free...they may or may not help you. Since your light is not on, there will be no active codes...only possibly a pending code.

Old 01-10-2011, 06:02 PM

My suggest to you is to not bring it to a dealership yet.

1. Did the vehicle's performance change at all when the light was on VS off.
2. Did you notice at what conditions the light come on, or is it just randomly. Condition - ie. rain, snow, hot/cold days.
3. How long does the light last for? 1-2 days. 2-3 weeks. Or even after couple start ups, it goes away?